Book Review – ‘Death is my only Beloved’

“I have a penchant for poetry. But more than poetry, it is the words that fascinate me. I abhor words as much as I adore them” – he writes trying to communicate to the reader on how poetry became the form of expression when he was alone with his thoughts.

The collective theme of ‘Death Is My Only Beloved’ is a reflection of the dark side of life and dubious ways of human nature. The author writes about his vices proudly yet, doesn’t shy from baring his raw emotions he experienced while losing a loved one. The analogies are bizarre yet fascinating in some ways. For example – He compares the moon to a ‘Freudian Spy’ on a melancholic night. The pieces that stood out in the collection were ones in which he talked about his writing process. Verses in one distinct piece translated something on the lines of – how a blinking cursor, blank space were all a muse’s doing.

Personally, I preferred descriptive pieces as opposed to abstract ones. Their ambiguous nature didn’t go well with my taste. The illustrations came to my rescue when I was trying to piece the author’s thoughts. Some poems simply felt like rants and could have been more subtly written.

I couldn’t think of a better ending than quoting one of his lines -“It will make you think, even for a minute ..

And his verses did in some ways.

Leave a comment