Author Interview – Ky Venn

1) You love sending your characters on adventures. What adventures does Adelynn embark on in the book ‘Justice in Magic’?

A) Adelynn embarks on a journey of self discovery; an adventure of learning new things about herself, and beginning to find herself.

2) What was your process in sketching the character of Adelynn?


A) I love to give characters several personality traits, zodiac signs, the way they smell, how certain things make them feel.

3) What makes Adelynn different from other female protagonists in other fantasy stories?


A) I don’t think Addie is too different from other female main characters in fantasy novels; there are a lot of badass, strong women who work to better themselves and I think Addie embodies a lot of that. I hope she is someone that everyone can look up to like so many other main characters I know.

4) Personally, what excites you as fantasy as a genre?

A) I love fantasy novels so much. I love being able to dive into another world that someone else created in their head, and escape the life I have now, even just for a little while when I’m stressed out.

Ky Venn

5) What are your pet peeves whilst writing?


A) My pet peeve while writing is definitely when my imposter syndrome kicks in and I start doubting myself; also editing, editing hurts me haha.

6) Did you get too attached to a character while writing ‘Justice in Magic’?


A) I love Tristan with my entire heart, he’s a definite underrated man in my opinion. Honestly I got attached to a lot of them.

7) How did you juggle a mammoth task like writing a fantasy book alongside other chores?


A) Holy cow, it was a wild ride. I work forty hours a week, I have a cleaning service on the side; I’m also a future wife who owns a home that has to be taken care of, and family to take care of and spend time with. Time management is incredibly important while being a writer and I am still learning it as I go.

8) What is your advice to authors who want to take the self-publishing route?


A) It’s a hard journey, but DO IT! It’s so incredibly worth it, and all of the hard work is worth it I promise you. Just keep pushing if you get stuck. Also, get a group of author friends you can talk to and rant to and vent to and get advice from. It has changed my life and I wouldn’t be able to do it without them.

Leave a comment