Author Interview – Kate Haley

1) Speculative fiction comprises elements that are non-existent in the real world. What kind of research is necessary to write a book in this genre or is it completely rooted in imagination?

It varies depending on the world and story. High fantasy (War of the North Saga) requires less research than a lot of other genres. My most recent work is a horror trilogy that is set in the late-1920s to mid-1930s and has required quite a bit of historical research.

The War of the North Saga

2) You had mentioned in your introduction that ‘current villains lack style and imagination’. How would you develop an antagonist character and what are the key elements you would add?

The comment was a dry joke at the expense of the state of the world, but in terms of developing antagonists in my work I aim to make them compelling and frightening. For example, taking Āni from The War of the North, I made sure the readers get to spend time with the character as the story progresses. He starts distant, mysterious, and ominous, so that the evil builds over time, until they get to see things from his perspective and get an inside view of how deeply sick and twisted he is. A core part of that was showing his complete disregard for his victims and their pain. I also have a tendency to make my villains predatory, because that’s a quality I find unsettling.

3) Can you tell us something about your book series ‘War of the North Saga’? Can the books be read as a standalone?

They can’t really be read as standalone books. I wouldn’t recommend it. The series is an epic high-fantasy quest saga and each book flows into the next. It wasn’t so much writing seven books as much as writing one massive book and splitting it into seven parts. Although, I did try and make sure that each book has its own complete story arc as well.

Footsteps into the Unfamiliar

4) What are your favorite books in the speculative fiction genre? Did any of them inspire the ‘War of the North Saga’?

Speculative fiction is such a giant range of genres it is hard to pick favourites. That said, I often pick Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett as my all-time favourite book. I am inspired by those authors, but I wouldn’t say that inspiration influences my work. I don’t write like they do.

5) It’s comparatively easy to write the blurb of fiction novels compared to fantasy novel lest one reveals something crucial. How did you manage this tedious task?

I won’t lie, I hate writing blurbs. Blurbs suck. My biggest challenge writing fantasy blurbs is trying to work out what is important for the reader to know going in. I try and keep them short and sweet, and I run them by test readers to cut anything that isn’t crucial. The best advice I got about blurb writing was to give the reader someone to care about, tell them why they should care, and then threaten said person or their happiness – raise the stakes to get the reader invested.

6) Writing is often a lonely process. Who were your earliest supporters in your journey and how important is it that authors support each other?

I’m very lucky that I have always had support. My family and friends have been invaluable in my journey, and some of my closest friends are people I met in a writers’ club. We still try and meet every fortnight to attempt to keep each other honest about our work. I think every author should have other friends who are writers. I think it helps keep things in perspective.

7) What is your favorite time to write?

Often between 10pm and 3am, when the world is quiet and the magic gets in.

8) Did the pandemic affect your writing process? If yes, then how?

I guess so. I still write books the same way I used to, but the pandemic meant I stayed home a lot more. Multiple lockdowns have ranged from intensely productive to completely unproductive. I think I have been slacker than I used to be. Some days you just make a blanket fort and stay in your pyjamas. It’s been a weird time for everyone.

9) As a reader and writer what are your pet peeves?

Oh, there are too many to list here. I’m always grouchy about something. I’m sick of white saviours. Obsession isn’t love. Angst isn’t romance. Finish what you start, don’t just leave stories dangling because you’re too lazy to do it properly. Stop killing and torturing your queers! And let me have my damn Oxford comma! I love the Oxford comma. I know business writers think it’s unnecessary, but I think they’re unnecessary. It’s not hurting anyone. Sometimes it’s really important.

10) Lastly, any parting words for your readers.

Guys, where are you? Come say hi. You can get in touch through my website or mailing list. Please, help me procrastinate. I can’t consume all these memes alone. Talk to me about the things you like and I’ll try writing more of them!

Connect with the author on –

i) Amazon

ii) Goodreads

iii) Facebook

iv) Twitter

v) Website

Leave a comment