Toffee

T/W – Domestic Abuse, Mention of Chronic Illness

Allison has suffered constant abuse from her father. But when her father’s fiance Kelly Anne plans to run away along with her, Allison refuses. When Allison plans to run away, she’s stopped by a neighbourhood woman Marla who calls her Toffee. The ice breaks between the two woman when Allison gorges on delicious food prepared by Marla. Allison finally musters the courage to run away. Meanwhile, her troubled past haunts her.

“I like the idea of being
sweet and hard,
a girl with a name for people
to chew on.
A girl who could break teeth.”

The story is narrated in a verse format. The story shifts between Allison’s past and present. The poetic style is free verse. The expressive language makes you feel the words and imagine the scene as if it were happening in front of your own eyes. The trauma of domestic abuse on the victim is articulated beautifully in words. The chapters are small, yet are able to create an impact. The repetition of words in the verses emphasizes the emotions felt by the characters. Allison wanted to shed her past and Marla wanted to remember her former self. The contrasting personalities find comfort in each other’s company. Marla got a companion and Allison shed her past self and got a new identity, Toffee.

This is the first time, I’m reading a book written in a lyrical style and I’m keen to explore more books in this genre.

Toffee is bitter but you have to try it to taste life.

“I am hiding my whole history,
hoping I will forget it.
I am hiding everything from you.
If only I could hide it from myself.”

Leave a comment